Security Guard Requirements in New Mexico


Your ads will be inserted here by

Easy Plugin for AdSense.

Please go to the plugin admin page to
Paste your ad code OR
Suppress this ad slot.



 

Security Guard Training In New Mexico

In New Mexico, unarmed security guards are required to be licensed/registered. There are three levels of registration; level one, two or three. The same criteria must be met on all levels except for level three, which requires more hours of training.

Basic requirements for an unarmed security guard in New Mexico (All Levels):

  • Must be at least 18 years old (age 21 for level 3)
  • United States resident
  • High school diploma or equivalent (Level 2 and 3)
  • No felony convictions or misdemeanors associated with violence (which includes domestic), drugs ( use or sale), theft or fraud
  • Good moral character
  • Submit (2) passport photos
  • Submit fingerprint cards (2) obtained from the board office and certificate form
  • Copy of background history from employer
  • Successfully complete department approved training and examination (Level 1, 2 and 3)
  • Employee by a private security company and under supervision from a licensed patrol officer (Level 1 and 2)
  • Signed and notarized release of information form

Other Requirements that May Be Helpful:

  • Driver’s License
  • Good Communication skills
  • Good physical conditioning
  • Be able to stand long periods of time

Training and experience: 24 hours of training is required for level 1, 2 and 3; however, levels 2 and 3 require an additional 24 hours of training as levels increase.

Level 1

(1) Role of the security guard – one (1) hour
(2) Basic first aid and CPR training – eight (8) hours
(3) Investigations – three (3) hours
(4) Interview skills – two (2) hours
(5) Preservation of evidence – two (2) hours
(6) Asset protection – one (1) hour
(7) Chain of command – one (1) hour
(8) report writing – two (2) hours
(9) Testifying in court – one (1) hour
(10) Ethics and professionalism – three (3) hours

Level 2: In addition to level one requirements, 24 additional hours of training in the following must be completed within 12 months before applying for registration.

(1) Use of force – three (3) hours
(2) Self defense weapons and techniques – eight (8) hours
(3) Side handle batons – four (4) hours
(4) Handcuffing – four (4) hours
(5) Use of tasers – five (5) hours

Level 3: In addition to levels 1 and 2 requirements, 24 additional hours of training in the following must be completed within 12 months before applying for registration.

(1) Fire protection and life safety – four (4) hours
(2) Threat assessment – two (2) hours
(3) Safety awareness – one (1) hours
(4) Environment/hazardous materials – four (4) hours
(5) Firearms training – twenty four (24) hours

Fees: All fees are non-refundable

Application: $15
Background: $29.95

For more information, please see Instructions for Level 1, 2, and 3 Security Guard Registration or call 505-476-4650.


Your ads will be inserted here by

Easy Plugin for AdSense.

Please go to the plugin admin page to
Paste your ad code OR
Suppress this ad slot.